The Russian Europay Members Association, whose members include all of Russia’s card issuers and merchant acquirers, has joined the European ATM Security Team, although Russia is not a member of the Single Euro Payments Area.

Russia’s admittance is an exception because it borders several SEPA members’ countries, including Estonia, Finland, Lativa and Poland, Lachlan Gunn, the association’s coordinator, tells PaymentsSource. Russian banks have an installed base of 84,000 ATMs, Gunn says.

The European ATM Security Team will not include in its six-month and annual reports Russian Europay Members’ figures on ATM skimming, card trapping and physical attacks on ATMs, including robberies of cardholders withdrawing cash from the machines.

“If another non-SEPA member joins, such as Nigeria, South Africa or Canada, we would publish their data in an annex of the main report,” Gunn says.  SEPA is comprised of 32-member states, and its goal is to support cross-border payments among its member countries.

With the addition of Russian Europay, the security organization has national representation from 23 other European countries. Exceptions include the Czech Republic, Estonia, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania and Solvenia, Gunn says.

Subscribe Now

Authoritative analysis and perspective for every segment of the payments industry

14-Day Free Trial

Authoritative analysis and perspective for every segment of the industry